The Two Chairs featured in Peril

Being Yellow: about TheTwoChairs initiative

by Suzanne Nguyen

news-you-can-use-bananas-in-pyjamas-rescued-from-kidnapping_h 

Being yellow 

Riding on the train is one of my favourite places to think and reflect. During a reflective train ride, I have come to a sudden realisation that I may be potentially known as the artist who like racist stories. The more I thought about it the more it doesn’t bother me. After all I am a story collector interested in exploring Australian cultural identity. At one point in my life, I questioned ‘what does it mean to be an Asian Australian?’ The only fitting answer came in the form of my childhood icons Banana in Pyjamas. I believe that B1 and B2 are Asian Australians. Like a banana, I am yellow inside and white outside. By accepting this I started to notice other things. Namely, that racism is part of our everyday Australian culture. Read more here

Leave a Reply

